Open For Business

18 01 2008

Normally during tax season I don’t get much opportunity to sit and stare out the window, much less take time to blog.  I have a short break, so I thought I’d check in.  I’m sitting here at my desk looking at the reflection of the “OPEN” sign in our front window.  It is supossed to be turned on each morning when the office is opened and turned off at closing each night.  Seeing this sign today made me wonder if people give God “office hours” too. 

“God, I’m available on Sunday mornings from 10am to noon and most Wednesday’s from 6pm to 8pm.  Anything outside those hours will require prior arrangement.” 

Do we allow God to enter into our lives and speak to us, work through us, be seen in us, only when we’ve made an appointment with Him?  I must confess that I’ve been guilty of doing just that.  When things are just rolling along smoothly, typical daily tasks, etc. I find it easy to just kinda let God “come along for the ride.”  Kind of like remembering to bring my wallet with me before I leave the house or something.  I don’t give His presence much thought unless something goes wrong. 

If I’m truly “bulletproof,” then I can’t just expect God to be a part of my life when I choose to call on Him.  I must make sure that my “open” sign is always lit, the door unlocked, and appointment calendar cleared of anything else that may get in the way.   The armor is the key to my ability to be bulletproof and Christ is that armor.  If I minimize (or minimalize) my time in His presence, then the armor will soon grow weak and my protection will not be as strong. 

How do you keep God’s presence in your life at the front of all you do?  Is it easier at some times than it is at others?  What are those times?  Why are those times harder or easier?

I’m awaiting your responses.

Beth

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

