Bible Survey

12 03 2008

Hello Readers,

I’m conducting a short survey and I hope you will participate and then send your friends here to participate as well. I want lots of participation because, well, a few won’t really tell me much, except that I have few readers, which I already know. I want to know out of simple curiosity, not because I’m doing research for my latest book or anything. I’m not collecting any personal data or offering anything in return except my gratitude (and the results if you’re interested). This is something I’m curious about because in talking with others recently, it seems that some are very passionate about their particular choice of Bible. I’ve come across these questions in pastor search surveys, Bible study classes, those seeking a church home, etc. I also suffer from a wonderful sense of curiosity. Thanks for sending your friends and for easing my suffering. I’m including a link you can send to others so they can participate too. Bible Survey Link

Here goes:

1) What Bible translation do you currently use? If it’s more than one, which one do you use most frequently? (ie: KJV, NKJV, NIV, etc.)

2) How long have you been using the above translation?

3) Did you choose this translation or was it chosen for you?

4) If you chose it, why?

5) If you didn’t, what reason(s) do you continue to use it?

6) Does your particular Bible offer any tools such as a concordance, dictionary, commentary notes, maps, etc?

7) Who published it (Nelson, Thompson, etc.)?

8) What do you like most about your Bible? Least?

9) Is it hard or soft cover?

10) Do you write or mark in your Bible? Why or why not?

Actions

Information

8 responses

12 03 2008
bulletproofmom

I’ll go first.

1) NASB Updated version
2) about 18 months or so
3) I chose this translation
4) I chose it after doing a bit of research on various translations and comparing word for word vs. thought for thought translations and those in between. I believe this to be the most accurately word for word translation.
5) N/A
6)I currently use the John MacArthur Study Bible in this version. It has extensive commentary and study notes, some maps and charts, a concordance, topical index, cross referencing, yearly reading plan, etc. Lots of helps too.
7) It’s published by Thomas Nelson
8) I love the extremely thorough study notes and commentary. I’m no Bible scholar, and this Bible is a great study aid. It’s very well organized and I like the layout. The only downside is that the margins are narrow, which doesn’t leave much room for notes.
9) It’s a soft cover
10) I do mark in my Bible LOTS! My memory is about as long as my nose and I want to make sure I can go back to things I’ve heard or studied. When I get a new Bible, I go through it, cover to cover, marking it and writing the same things in it as my old one. Then, it truly feels like mine.

12 03 2008
Cristy

1) What Bible translation do you currently use? If it’s more than one, which one do you use most frequently? (ie: KJV, NKJV, NIV, etc.)
NIV

2) How long have you been using the above translation?
6 years, it’s my very first bible. (I don’t want to upset anyone, but the truth is that I grew up Catholic and my family never put any emphasis on having a bible or reading it.)

3) Did you choose this translation or was it chosen for you?
It was chosen for me by a dear friend as a birthday gift about 2 years after I started going to church. Prior to that I read from Ken’s KJV and was confused most of the time.

4) If you chose it, why? N/A

5) If you didn’t, what reason(s) do you continue to use it?
I love it because all my handwritten notes are in it.

6) Does your particular Bible offer any tools such as a concordance, dictionary, commentary notes, maps, etc?
A concordance and maps, but not a dictionary or commentary. I study quite a bit from Justin’s study bible with commentary. It also has topical index, cross referencing, yearly reading plan, etc. But I love the commentary in Justin’s bible.

7) Who published it (Nelson, Thompson, etc.)?
Zondervan

8) What do you like most about your Bible? Least?
I love that I can find things easily based on my scribbles.
I like it least because it doesn’t have commentary, that’s why I study from Justin’s bible. (Also a Zondervan NIV…but it’s a study bible.)

9) Is it hard or soft cover?
Soft

10) Do you write or mark in your Bible? Why or why not?
Oh yes, many many scribbles in the margins, underlines, asterisks…whatever it takes. (I didn’t write in it at first because I just felt wrong about writing in a bible.)

I know you didn’t ask this, but I thought I would mention that we have many translastions in our house and I pick up different ones when I’m curious about the wording in one or another. I’ve been known to have four open at once. Ken has a KJV (since birth?), a NASB Study bible (which he now uses most) and Parallel with KJV, NKJV, NIV & NLT…different bible studies (leaders), different translations. Cam uses a Parallel NIV & Message bible. He seems to get more out of the Message translation when we’re doing devotionals. (He’s not a reader and struggles with comprehension.) Justin has the NIV Study bible.

12 03 2008
milkinthecloset

1) What Bible translation do you currently use? If it’s more than one, which one do you use most frequently? (ie: KJV, NKJV, NIV, etc.)
NIV

2) How long have you been using the above translation?
I have owned this particular Bible for 16 years, but I’m sure I used NIV before that, as well.

3) Did you choose this translation or was it chosen for you?
It was chosen for me. A gift from my parents.

4) If you chose it, why? N/A

5) If you didn’t, what reason(s) do you continue to use it?
I have had this particular Bible for so long. I, too, have so many hand written notes in it that it’s hard to give up. Also, I can find particular scriptures a lot faster since I’ve had it so long.

6) Does your particular Bible offer any tools such as a concordance, dictionary, commentary notes, maps, etc?
concordance, commentary, maps, charts, cross references (It’s a study Bible.)

7) Who published it (Nelson, Thompson, etc.)?
Zondervan

8) What do you like most about your Bible? Least?
Most – familiararity, concordance, cross-references on the pages
Least – wish the concordance was even more comprehensive

9) Is it hard or soft cover?
soft

10) Do you write or mark in your Bible? Why or why not?
Yes. I like to mark certain scriptures with significant dates, notes from sermons, things God has given me in my times with Him.

13 03 2008
jtohline

1) What Bible translation do you currently use? If it’s more than one, which one do you use most frequently?

I still use the King James Version for study and teaching. The Amplified bible is my second most-used version… then (many) others.

2) How long have you been using the above translation?

Since 1978, about a month after my salvation. I first picked up the Living Bible because I knew I needed something easy to read if I were to actually USE the Bible.

3) Did you choose this translation or was it chosen for you?

I chose it… sorta, kinda

4) If you chose it, why?

The Bible teachers I began listening to used the KJV Bible. I got one so I could actually follow along with the teaching tapes and be “on the same page” (so to speak).

5) If you didn’t, what reason(s) do you continue to use it?

I continue to use it because it’s easier for me to parse the sentences. The phrasing stands out as uncommon, compared to today’s english, so the nuances stand out more to me.

6) Does your particular Bible offer any tools such as a concordance, dictionary, commentary notes, maps, etc?

Concordance, center column reference and maps. I choose this particular publisher because of the layout and completeness of the center column reference and the size of the concordance.

7) Who published it (Nelson, Thompson, etc.)?

Cambridge

8) What do you like most about your Bible? Least?

Center column reference and concordance.

9) Is it hard or soft cover?

Soft

10) Do you write or mark in your Bible? Why or why not?

I write extensively in my main Bible. Thoughts are jotted in the blank pages in the front and back of the Bible. Notes are made in the margins. Sentences are underlined and words are circled. I don’t use markers in my main Bible because they bleed through. If I do use something to highlight, I use a yellow china marker (a glorified crayon).

15 03 2008
Amy

1) ESV
2) About a year and a half. I used to use NIV exclusively, but was delighted by the freshness a different translation added to my personal Bible reading.
3) I chose it, based on some recommendations.
4) Ooops, some friends recommended it.
5) I continue to use it, because it helps me see things in a different way.
6) Nope!
7)
8) It has a beautiful cover, it’s small so I can carry it in my purse. The print is small….that’s my only complaint.
9) soft
10) No way! I have a strong aversion to marking in any book. It makes me pay more attention to certain parts and ignore others.

17 03 2008
thomas

1) What Bible translation do you currently use? If it’s more than one, which one do you use most frequently? (ie: KJV, NKJV, NIV, etc.)

I use the NIV

2) How long have you been using the above translation?

Twenty years?

3) Did you choose this translation or was it chosen for you?

Sort of both. It was the version that my friends were using so I bought it to be the same as them.

4) If you chose it, why?
5) If you didn’t, what reason(s) do you continue to use it?
6) Does your particular Bible offer any tools such as a concordance, dictionary, commentary notes, maps, etc?

Yes. A basic concordance, some commentaries, and some maps

7) Who published it (Nelson, Thompson, etc.)?

Zondervan for the one that I keeping the house. I am not sure what the other one that I keep in the car.

8)What do you like most about your Bible? Least?

Like most. Easy to read. Basic historical information at the beginning of each book. Helps me to understand why the book was written.

Least. The size of the print.

9) Is it hard or soft cover?

One in the house soft cover. One in the car hard cover.

10) Do you write or mark in your Bible? Why or why not?

Yes. I write, under line and highlight all over the Bible in my car. It is the Bible that I use in Church and small groups discussions. All the markings help me remember or understand something new in what we are studying.

Thomas

15 04 2008
your first nephew

1) What Bible translation do you currently use? If it’s more than one, which one do you use most frequently? (ie: KJV, NKJV, NIV, etc.)
– NIV

2) How long have you been using the above translation?
– since the end of highschool, 1988

3) Did you choose this translation or was it chosen for you?
– a little of both… it was a graduation gift and I got to pick

4) If you chose it, why?
– to me, NIV reads a little more like a book so it’s easier on the brain without the King’s English… that I prefer on BBC comedies and Top Gear 😉

6) Does your particular Bible offer any tools such as a concordance, dictionary, commentary notes, maps, etc?
– a few, and I’ve used them here and there

7) Who published it (Nelson, Thompson, etc.)?
Zondervan

8) What do you like most about your Bible? Least?
most – it is slim and red-lined
least – it is a touch old now and the cover is beat

9) Is it hard or soft cover?
– soft, pleather

10) Do you write or mark in your Bible? Why or why not?
– Yes and no. I’ve highlighted here and there, but the slim format does not leave big margins for notes.

26 01 2009
Brian

1) Lately it’s been the ESV

2) I’ve had a NT for a couple of years and bought the ESV study bible when it came out around the first of Dec ’08 – before it would’ve been NKJV or NASB

3) I like a multitude of translations – I choose

4) I truly like the reading of the text. Now, I don’t have any Greek/Hebrew background so I don’t have an opinion about the translation, but I like that it’s very readable but also keeps many of the hard theological words, phrases, ideas, etc.

5) n/a

6) Oh, yes. I’ve used a study bible nearly exclusively since I was 19 y/o.

7) Crossway

8) I like the vivid (and at times large) illustrations and maps and I like that they’re embedded into the text and not all kept at the back of the Bible; Least: that it’s so heavy/massive – it doesn’t bother me, really, but that is my least favorite feature

9) Hard

10) absolutely

Leave a Reply

