It’s All About Me

22 07 2008

I’ve seen this printed on many, many things recently and it really bugs me.  I’ll have to get into the wheres and whys at some point; but not today.  Today, I am writing just about that; me I mean.

I received an “unofficial” MEME from BooMama.

Anything I receive from Sophie demands immediate attention.

Why?

Because she is one absolutely wonderful, genteal, sweet, southern gal!  We are somehow related I’m sure.

I figured if she took the time to MEME herself; and asked others to MEME as well, the least I could do was oblige.  Afterall, that’s what southern related women (who both admire Popeye’s Chicken) do for one another.

So, here goes.  My very own MEME.  Now if you think that you have something better to do right now other than read my MEME, such as laundry, dusting, or watching the grass grow; feel free.  I do however think that if you miss this opportunity to learn these wonderful details about me, well, then, I’m sure you will be somehow less informed in some respects.  Afterall, it IS all about ME!

What were you doing 10 years ago?

First I had to do the math to see just when that was.  Oh yeah, 1998.  I was residing in England.  In our small, but quite adequete house.  During this exact month at that time, I was on vacation in the U.S.  We came back once every two years to make sure our family hadn’t sold all our stuff and to let the grandparents see that they really did have grandchildren.  Since all this family seeing involved travel from Maryland to Michigan to Florida and back, we were probably in the car for most of this trip.

Favorite Snacks

Diet Coke (this isn’t really a snack as far as I’m concerned.  It’s a staple)

White Cheddar Popcorn

Trail Mix (the kind with peanuts, chocolate chips, M&Ms and raisins)

Ice Cream (anything with Reeces Peanut Butter Cups works for me)

To Do List

First off, let me say that having one of these usually means that I intend to actually DO something worthwhile.  Depending on the day and the mood, I try to avoid these types of things so my list is often sporadic and on ocassion, even goes missing.

Right now though and in no particular order:

1. Laundry (that’s kinda a never ending one with 4 kids)

2. Lunch with my youngest (age 8)

3. A shower (try to get one of these everyday)

4. Bible study (right now I’m reading through chronologically)

5. Cooking a meal or three

6. Convincing oldest child (age 18) that it will not actually kill him to clean his room.

7. Check e-mail and write something for the blog.

8. Prepare a 20 minute presentation for my new boss (due Thursday)

9. Take our 15 year old to an eye appointment.

Jobs I’ve Had

radio DJ; radio station promotions assistant; church nursery worker; German/Russian Linguist; Combat photographer; Intelligence Analyst; pre-school teacher; tax preparer; EMT; EMT instructor; office manager; and all those things that come along with parenting 4 children and being married to a career Air Force man.

Places I’ve Lived

Florida, Arizona, Tennessee, Texas, California, Illinois, Hawaii, England and North Dakota.  (We have land in Michigan and I had a MI driver’s license for 17 years, but I’ve never actually physically lived there!)

Bad Habits

procrastination, nail biting, too much TV and internet, over eating, under (read:avoid at all cost) exercising, over spending, under cleaning.

5 Random Things People May Not Know About Me

1.  I caught a 98 pound tarpon when I was 14 years old.

2.  My favorite flavor of chewing gum is Teaberry.  It’s hard to find these days!

3.  I had dinner with Rick Springfield and did a live interview with Adam Ant.  (Kudos to you if you actually know who these guys are!)

4.  I use a Blackberry phone.

5.  I met my husband when I traveled to Michigan to be in his older brother’s wedding.

CDs I would want if stranded on a desert island (this is a tough one!)

Shaun Groves, Michael W. Smith’s Freedom, the extended soundtrack of The Phantom of the Opera, Taylor Sorenson, Kutless, Michael Olson, Steven Curtis Chapman

Things I would do if I were a billionaire

1. Pay off all debt

2. Build our retirement home (much smaller than our original plan, yet more than adequate)

3. Ensure all the kiddos had some funds to pursue their life ambitions.

4. Take the whole family to see all three of the children we sponsor through Compassion (Haiti, Ecuador, and Columbia)

5. Contribute enough to our church to ensure that a minimum of 30% was being spent on each of these: effective missions and children/youth programs.  Adult discipleship would be another major chunk.

6. Contribute generously to other charities we support such as Compassion.

7. Refuse to be in debt, live modestly, and truly learn the definition of “enough.”

8. Invest in a Chick-Fil-A so I can have one near me whenever I want!

I am so impressed with myself!  Not only did this force me to actually have some sort of “to do list” today, but I actually had to use a few brain cells and think.  Now, I have a headache and I’m sure it’s due to the death of several brain cells.

If you are so inclined to have your own “MEME Day,” please feel free to do so.  Come back here and link to your MEME page so we can all get to know you better!

Actions

Information

6 responses

23 07 2008
cathy

I don’t have a “blog” … or even know “where” I am… lol, but I had a google alert for RS (cute that you had dinner with him) and just had to read all about “you”!!! I have 5 children and can relate to your witty comments. Feel free to email me if you want to know more about me. Hope your day is great!

23 07 2008
Cristy

Beth, you have had some really cool jobs! And each one is very different from the next! A radio DJ? Dinner with Rick Springfield, I had posters of him hanging in my bedroom when I was a teenager! I’m glad you did this…I’ll try to work on one and leave it here or email it to you. : )

BTW, You’re 8’s turned into smiley faces when you paired them with parenthesis.

23 07 2008
bulletproofmom

Cathy,
Welcome to my blog! I hope you’ll check back often even if I don’t write much about RS these days.

Cristy,
I don’t know WHY those pesky smileys show up every time I use the number eight. Yes, many different jobs. Could that explain my ADD or does my ADD explain my many jobs? BTW, you really need to start your own blog. You are such a cool person with much value to share. Besides, Shaun needs more bloggers!
Beth

23 07 2008
thomas

I am with you Beth, Cristy needs to get a blog.

6 08 2008
thisiskristin

you have had so many diverse jobs!

6 08 2008
bulletproofmom

Thanks Kristin. Yes, some would call me “diverse.” Others (read: those that really know me!) would call me severely ADD! Hopefully my career(s) as a preschool teacher will keep you and Aiden working happily together for a long time!

Beth

Leave a Reply

